Kirby AC CMG—Emeritus Chairman

As a particular mark of respect, admiration and affection, the ALRC proudly conferred on Michael Kirby the honorary title of ‘Chairman Emeritus’, acknowledging his role as inaugural Chairman of the ALRC, from 1975 to 1984. This is the first time in the ALRC’s 36-year history that such an honour has been conferred.  The gathering of ALRC colleagues, Kirby Cup recipients and their families was an ideal occasion to present Kirby with his testamur, adding to his astonishing collection of honorary degrees and other prestigious awards.

ALRC staff with Inaugural Chairman, the Hon Michael Kirby

Left to right: Sabina Wynn, Michele Reddy, Marie-Claire Muir, Justine Clarke, Khanh Hoang, Professor Rosalind Croucher, Professor Terry Flew, the Hon Michael Kirby, Jared Boorer, Amanda Alford, Maria Zacharia, Bruce Alston, Tina O’Brien, Trisha Manning.