Winners of the 2010 Kirby Cup Law Reform Competition announced

The ALRC is pleased to announced that this year’s winning entry in the Kirby Cup Law Reform Competition is from Monash University law students, Israel Cowen and Adam Delacorn. This winning entry was chosen from five other finalists.

President Professor Rosalind Croucher said, ‘this year the entrants in the Kirby Cup competition had to look at the importance of consultation to the law reform process, and use an example of an ALRC inquiry to illustrate their arguments. Some entries focused on the role of an  informed citizenry in this process, others contrasted  the role of the public and of the judiciary in law reform , while some took a cross disciplinary and philosophical approach to the subject. Adam and Israel’s entry is well researched and structured and provides a reasoned commentary on ALRC processes and how consultation can assist in implementation of law reform proposals’.

The Kirby Cup was donated by the Honourable Justice Michael Kirby AC CMG, a former Justice of the High Court of Australia and the first Chairperson of the ALRC.  This competition provides a unique opportunity for Australian law students to consider the role of law reform and law reform agencies in Australia.

Read the winning entry by Israel Cowen and Adam Delacorn.

The topic for the 2011 competition will be announced early in 2011.