WEBINAR What goes where? A comparative discussion of the legislative puzzle

Tuesday 24 May 2022 at 4.30pm AEST
2.30pm AWST, HKT, SGT | 6.30pm NZST | 7.30am BST

As the Australian Law Reform Commission (ALRC) moves forward with its current inquiry into the simplification of corporations and financial services legislation, it is turning its attention to regulatory design and the hierarchy of laws. Relevant questions include: How should the statutory and regulatory framework be designed to support complex areas such as financial services? Where should the law be located to achieve coherence and navigability? If the law needs detail to function, whose job should it be to provide it?

Join the ALRC as it hosts a panel of international experts from Hong Kong, New Zealand, Singapore, and the UK to discuss these and related issues.

REGISTER TO ATTEND

Chair:

The Hon Justice Craig Colvin
Part-time Commissioner, Australian Law Reform Commission and Judge, Federal Court of Australia

Panel:

Professor Julia Black CBE
Strategic Director of Innovation and Professor of Law, London School of Economics and Political Science 

Ross Carter
Parliamentary Counsel, New Zealand Parliamentary Counsel Office

Professor Hans Tjio
CJ Koh Professor and Director, EW Barker Centre for Law & Business, National University of Singapore 

Professor Wai Yee Wan
Associate Dean (Research and Internationalisation) and Professor, School of Law, City University of Hong Kong 

 

Submit questions to the panel:
financial.services@alrc.gov.au